The Enchantments: Best Hike in Washington State

Image

The Enchantments have been touted as the best hike in Washington State and from my experience it is. Located in the Alpine Lakes Wilderness in the heart of the Cascade Mountains, the Enchantments are a series of high alpine lakes surrounded by towering granite spires, green flowering meadows, and meandering streams. And mountain goats. Lots of goats._MG_3218_edited

You can begin the Enchantment loop either at Snow Lakes trailhead or the Stuart/Colchuck Lakes trailhead. Most people opt to begin at the Stuart Lake trailhead because the elevation gain is slightly less, although you will have to conquer Aasgard Pass which is a feat even for the fit. The Stuart Lake trailhead is 9 or so miles beyond the Snow Lakes trailhead (trails 1599 and 1599.1) and you will be hiking about 6 miles and about 4400 feet of elevation gain to the top of the basin, but be warned – 2300 of that 4400 feet is gained in a single mile up Aasgard Pass. This route is often described as a level above the Snow Lake route, but many people actually prefer this way in. If you approach from the Snow Lakes trailhead about 4 miles outside of Leavenworth on Icicle Creek road (trail 1553), you have roughly 10 miles and 6000 feet of elevation gain before you reach the bottom of the Enchantments.

In order to camp overnight in the Enchantments, you have to either win a lottery that is held in February or try and get one of two permits issued daily. Luckily, my friend Chris won the lottery for two nights at Snow Lakes. She had been excited for this hike for months! The plan was to begin the hike at Snow Lakes trailhead, camp at upper Snow Lake, day hike to the Enchantments, and return hike to Snow Lake trailhead. Chris, being a bit older with knee replacements, didn’t want to take on Aasgard Pass. I’ve been to Colchuck Lake multiple times and was absolutely fine not hiking the challenging Pass._MG_3160

(Top of Aasgard Pass looking down upon Colchuck Lake)

I was to meet up with Chris and Christina at Upper Snow Lakes that evening because I had to work that day. Unfortunately, I got a message that Chris took a fall while hiking and they were at the hospital. I went to the hospital to find that Chris had tripped while hiking and face-planted into a rock. She broke her nose, split open her lip, and knocked her four front teeth loose. Chris and Christina told me to go on with the hike and put that permit to use. I felt horrible leaving them behind, but I couldn’t let this opportunity pass me by._MG_3210

Off to a rocky start… but I left the trailhead at about 4pm and got to Upper Snow Lake to camp at about 8pm. Roughly 7 miles in 4 hours, not bad. This was my sunset that greeted me that evening…

Image

The next morning, I took off to the Enchantment Basin. The hike from Snow Lakes to Lake Vivian, the first lake, is a buttkicker. Blisters had set into my heels at this point. At Lake Vivian, I got to see my first mountain goat. He was enjoying the view.

Image

Continuing on, I saw several more goats. The goats are attracted to the salt in urine, so beware where you pee! I even saw this lady trying to pet the goat. Warning – do not try to pet or feed wild animals. The goats may seem docile, but they can be unpredictable.

Image

Hiking from lake to lake, the views were spectacular!_MG_3049

It truly is the must-do hike in Washington. If you plan on tackling this strenuous hike, I suggest preparing with several day hikes and lots of conditioning to get the legs, feet, and back in shape.

Image

5 thoughts on “The Enchantments: Best Hike in Washington State

  1. There are two other ways to camp here. You can go out of season (before June 15, or after October 15). Or if you’re rich, you can hire a guide, as they work on a different permit system.

    I went in on the Snow trail, which is long and boring, but Ira Spring and Harvey Manning are probably right that it’s the best option. I’ve never done Aasgard Pass, I hear it’s the most difficult hike in WA. I’ve also heard that you see the best scenery first this way, and that it can lead to disappointment as you get into the less splendid basin, and then come out at Snow Lakes (if you’re doing a thru-hike). What are your thoughts?

    • Aasgard is probably one of the hardest hikes in Washington, aside from the obvious mountain climbing routes like Rainier, Adams, Baker…

      I agree the scenery is far prettier on the hike to Colchuck than to Snow. The biggest question is “do you want to go down or up Aagard?” My knees say go up. Or bypass it all together and do what I did, camp at Snow and day hike to the Enchantment area.

Leave a comment